“Look at me, I am not the person who needs a third term” – Kagame

 
Rwanda’s President Paul Kagame has reiterated that he is not interested in third term in office and will respect the constitution or what Rwandans will decide in the interest of continued progress and stability in the country after 2017.

President Kagame answers a question at the Press Conference
President Kagame answers a question at the Press Conference

He was addressing journalists at Village Urugwiro today during his second news briefing of the year.

The President said he remains wary of running for a third presidential term even if he believes that Rwandans still have the ultimate decision on important issues of national interest.

“If there is trust that I will do what I have said, I will do relating to what is there, meaning the constitution and so on and so forth, why then would people continue asking this question? Why don’t people just keep the trust and wait?” he said.

“Look at me, I am not the person who needs a third term. I don’t need it. I don’t do this job I am doing as something that benefits me, it is not how I do business, it is not me. Let’s not trivialize national matters. You trivialize the well-being, the interest, the security, the future of eleven million Rwandans and they are all made as simple as the President wanting another term.

The whole essence of what the country should be doing, the direction it should be moving into and the well-being of the whole country is lost and we go around and around instead of thinking about the future of this whole country. I am thinking about the future of this whole country, I am not talking about a third term.”- President Kagame said during Presidential Press Conference.

Leave a Reply

